21/01/2014 and what I am up to this week.

Dear Diary,

So I am feeling rather chuffed at the moment as I received a letter in the post from my MP Teresa Pearce (@tpearce003) (@HouseofCommons) personally addressed to me related to a meeting that we had to together which stated:

“Firstly, I would like to say that I very much enjoyed speaking with you. I am very impressed with the work that you are doing to highlight the opportunities available for girls in the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields. Girls and young women are very much under-represented in STEM professions which is not due to a lack of ability, but rather owing to the misguided and widely-pedaled belief that men are best suited to these careers. I am very pleased that you are working to try and address this imbalance and to invest in young girls the belief that they can pursue whatever careers they want.” (@Stemettes, @Science_Grrl; you are partly to thank for that)

She went on to state: “Please do feel free to create a Women in Business in Bexley prototype website for your final project as part of your coding course in Canary Wharf. I would be very interested to see the final website.” (@Level39CW, @EntreFirst, @CodeFirstGirls; you are partly to thank for that)

Further she stated: “The JCI can visit Parliament, and I would be more than happy to arrange for a group of people to undertake a tour of the Palace of Westminster.” (@JCICanaryWharf, @JCI_London, @JCI_UK; take heed)

And finally (super-chuff!!!): “I have also looked at your website, http://www.techcityblog.co.uk… I did think that the website itself looked very impressive… Thank you again for taking the time to meet with me.”

And what have I been up to this week? Good question @lauriewang2:

Monday I was at the UK Parliament (@UKParliament) House of Lords (@UKHouseofLords) administering to a debate, interesting and heated, I had to leave half way through to run off to @campuslondon for a hack and workshop on creating apps with @AppShed. Interesting, inspirational, free and easy; at some point I will try to create my first app.

Tuesday (today) the first meeting of @opentechschool London took place which I helped to facilitated with @vikkiread and @coderinheels, after we went to @_QueenOfHoxton_, mon dieu; that place is amazing, I had heard about it from @FiTimba but I didn’t realize how totally awesome it is until going to it today. They had a tipi on the top floor with origami classes inside as well as some of the best stew and mulled punch I have ever tried.

Wednesday I have double-booked myself, and it looks like I will be going with @hungrykiwilady and others to @TheBakeryLDN for a @WiWLondon (Women in Wireless) event sponsored by @Nexmo, Women in Wireless is now sponsored by @telefonica and @microsoft this event is now sold out. There is also another event that is taking place tomorrow evening that everyone should try to attend @barclays head office in Canary Wharf put on by @SimonAlexanderO get tickets here: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/make-2014-your-best-year-yet-tickets-10139839533

Thursday I am so pumped, Code First Girls starts up again! Then I am going to the @londonhackspace to hack a roomba with @arduino.

And Friday, where do I begin; I am going to Level 39 to meet a representative who I met at the Makers Academy Stemettes Panel of @ringpay, a representative of @timebank at @ideastores and then @WOWtweetUK preview at @southbankcentre.

So there we go 🙂

Leave a Reply

